Contact Us 24/7 631.224.7500

Blog

Suffolk Bag Fee Leads Some to go Bagless, Others to Buy Reusables

Posted by Melinda Rosati | Jan 08, 2018 | 0 Comments

Pay for plastic bags, carry your purchases or purchase reusable bags?

Suffolk County is the first county in New York state to enact a bag fee, but according to the Natural Resources Defense Council, more than 100 cities and towns in the United States have adopted bag laws. In 2014, California became the first state to enact a statewide ban on single-use bags at large stores.

Suffolk County's Department of Health Services will enforce its law. Stores will be penalized $500 for each violation but no fines will be issued through the six-month period ending June 18, as the county works to educate retailers on the law, officials said.

About the Author

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Over 25 Years Experience

When you've been charged with a DWI or traffic offense, call for an attorney with over 25 years experience who is also a retired New York Police Department Sergeant who knows both sides.

Menu