Driving Without a License in New York
Driving on a Suspended License
If you were cited for driving a motor vehicle without a proper driver's license, you will need the immediate attention of our New York criminal defense attorney. Unlicensed driving in New York is an offense frequently associated with such violations as underage driving, failure to renew a license, or driving without a license present. Driving without a license is a violation of
New York Vehicle and Traffic Code § 509. Upon conviction of driving without a license, you can receive a fine ranging from a minimum of $75 to no more than $300. You could additionally receive an imprisonment sentence of 15 days or less. Charges for driving with a suspended license can result in more substantial consequences.
Aggravated Unlicensed Operation
Some individuals fall into the category of aggravated unlicensed operation. Violations of aggravated unlicensed operation can be classified as either a first-, second-, or third-degree offense. You can be charged with aggravated unlicensed operation if you had your license suspended because of a past offense and you knowingly tried driving with a suspended license. Laws associated with aggravated unlicensed operation can be found in New York VTL § 511.
Suffolk County Criminal Defense Lawyer
Whether you are facing a charge for driving without a license, driving on a suspended license, or aggravated unlicensed operation, our firm can help you avoid the maximum penalty. You may be subject to imprisonment, impound of your vehicle, and probation. Whether or not you are aware that you are driving without a license, we can help you fight the charges against you. Your case may require legal assistance to defend against the ticket for this offense. Our legal team has extensive experience assisting ticketed residents throughout Suffolk County, New York. Contact us today for the legal guidance you need to avoid the penalties associated with driving without a license.